AGO Logo

Welcome To

The American Guild of Organists -- Palo Alto/Peninsula Chapter

Serving the San Francisco Peninsula
Community Since 1990

Our Facebook page


Program Year

Program Year

Program Year

Archive of
Chapter Newletters

National Headquarters
of the
American Guild of Organists


Regional Conventions,
June and July

Atlanta, 05-10 July
Sunday - Friday

Organ Historical Trust
of Australia
Conference 2018
Sydney, New South Wales
Tuesday 02 October --
Saturday 06

Palo Alto/Peninsula Chapter
mailing address
PO Box 582
Menlo Park, California

Our current chapter newsletter April 2019 is available online.


Sunday afternoon 07 April 2019, 2-5pm

Press Release from Jack Bethards
Schoenstein & Co.
4001 Industrial Way
Benicia, CA 94510
Schoenstein Open House

Please join us on Sunday afternoon, the 7th of April, from 2-5 p.m. for an Open House at our Benicia plant. One of the largest instruments in our history is under construction for installation this summer at The Basilica of the National Shrine of Mary, Queen of the Universe in Orlando, Florida. It is a symphonic organ of four manuals, eight divisions, 70 voices, 86 ranks. It features an extensive Solo division including some theatre organstyle stops and a large Gallery division with eight string ranks. The instrument with its two 32' stops is too large to set up completely in the factory. Visitors will see and hear the Gallery and Solo divisions as well as others in process.

Schoenstein & Co. is located at 4001 Industrial Way, Benicia, CA 94510. Telephone (707) 747-5858. Ample parking is available.

Directions: From I-80: At Vallejo, take I-780 east towards Benicia. After East Fifth St exit, get into right lane and exit onto I-680 North (Exit 7A). From I-680: At Benicia, take the Lake Herman Road exit (Exit 61). Go east (toward the water) on Lake Herman Road and cross the railroad overpass. Take the first right onto Industrial Way and go 1.3 miles. The plant is on the right just past a curve -- look for the 42' tall erecting room!


Our next chapter event ---

Saturday morning 18 May, 10:00
Masterclass with Gail Archer from Barnard College
Location TBD
She will preform a concert at St. Bede's Menlo Park the following day, Sunday afternoon at 4:00, to celebrate the Beckerath organ's 50th anniversary. Read all about it at Arts Brochure 2108-2019.


Chapter Officers:
Donald Mulliken, Dean
Rani Fischer, SubDean
Tom Lohmuller, Secretary
Ed Jennings, Treasurer
David Sheetz, Registrar
Katherine Ou, Newsletter Editor
James Martin, Web Master


Executive Board
Class of 2020 -- Eric Lebel, Jin Kyung Lim
Class of 2022 -- Catha Hall, Curtis 'Fjord' Hawthorne, Jeff Kabel


Matthew Burt, Regional councillor
John Karl Hirten, District convener